Feb 26, 2020

The National Solid Waste Management Commission (NSWMC) and the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) have approved NSWMC Resolution No. 1363, which bans the use of eight types of single-use plastics in government offices.

These include plastic cups less than 0.2 millimeter in thickness, drinking straws, coffee stirrers, spoons, forks, knives, “plastic labo” or thin, translucent plastic bags, and thin-filmed sand bags lower than 15 micron. These types were specifically chosen given that eco-friendly alternatives are available.

“It was the decision of the NSWMC to come up with a balanced judgment on the use of single-use plastics by taking into consideration that we can only ban those that have available alternatives,” said Benny Antiporda, Environment Undersecretary for Solid Waste Management and LGU’s Concern

According to Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu, this ban is a major step towards stopping the single-use plastics that pollute waterways, kill marine life and add to the country’s waste.

Following this resolution the DENR is expected to create specific guidelines for the implementation of the single-use plastic ban.

The plastic ban will be implemented in all government offices nationwide including national government agencies, local government units and all other government controlled-offices.



Header photo courtesy of tanvi sharma on Unsplash

Get more stories like this by subscribing to our weekly newsletter here.

Read more:

QC is the latest city to ban single-use plastic starting 2020

5 bills that seek to ban single-use plastic in the country

Bottled water drinkers consume 90,000 more microplastics

TAGS: breaking news ecofriendly environmental government nolisoli philippines plastic Plastic Ban