Now Reading
Remember their names: The 11 representatives who voted no to ABS-CBN franchise denial

Remember their names: The 11 representatives who voted no to ABS-CBN franchise denial


On July 10, 11 representatives stood against the shutdown of ABS-CBN as the 13 hearings of the House of Representatives’ Committee on Legislative Franchises tackling the media network’s franchise renewal application came to an end.

These 11 representatives are as follows:

  • Rep. Sol Aragones
  • Rep. Christopher De Venecia
  • Rep. Carlos Zarate
  • Rep. Gabriel Bordado Jr.
  • Rep. Vilma Santos-Recto
  • Rep. Lianda Bolilia
  • Rep. Jose Tejada
  • Rep. Bienvenido Abante
  • Rep. Stella Quimbo
  • Rep. Mujiv Hataman
  • Rep. Edward Maceda

These 11 representatives were a meager number compared to the 70 representatives who voted to disapprove ABS-CBN’s franchise renewal application. Meanwhile, only one congressman abstained and two legislators—one of them is Representative Alfred Vargas who released a statement prior to the hearing—inhibited from voting.

Among the 11, representatives Sol Aragones, Lianda Bolilia and Vilma Santos-Recto voted yes during the House of Representatives’ reading of the Anti-Terror Bill last month. The bill was then signed by President Duterte into law on July 3.


Header photo courtesy of

Get more stories like this by subscribing to our weekly newsletter here.

Read more:

What does press freedom have to do with their franchise issue? ABS-CBN answers

“Ang Probinsyano,” “TV Patrol” completely off air? NTC wants to shut down ABS-CBN TVplus, too

Cong. Mike Defensor suggests ABS-CBN’s return without political programs and people are not having it

Writer: YANN MAGCAMIT © 2020. Hinge Inquirer Publications, Inc.