Feb 24, 2020

If you love to travel, then you know that obtaining a visa can sometimes be an arduous process. A short vacation in a new country can require having to endure queues at embassies and gathering certain documents. However, there are still a number of countries that actually allow visa-free, visa on arrival or e-visa cross-country travel experiences. To help us use these travel perks more efficiently, we’ll break down these types of visas and highlight their differences.



A country listed as visa-free means that any foreigner traveling to the country does not need a visa to enter and leave its territory. There is no need to go through the hassle of applying for a visa. It is only important to take note of the maximum number of visa-free travel days permitted to stay in the country for a specific amount of time. So if you’re the type to go out on spontaneous trips, visa-free countries are the ones that should be next on your travel list.

Countries that are visa-free to the Philippines include Taiwan (until July 2020), Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Macau, Fiji, Thailand, Vietnam, Myanmar, Micronesia, Israel, Mongolia, Laos, Cambodia, Brunei, Vanuatu, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Costa Rica, Morocco and Haiti.


Visa on arrival

This type of visa requires your application once you’ve arrived in the country; meaning there is no need to secure a visa before purchasing a plane ticket. Counters dedicated for visas on arrival will be found in the airports. You will be required to present the necessary documents, most importantly the passport and pay for the fees. Generally, visa on arrival makes for a simpler process as all the steps that need to be done are performed in one location. However, make sure that you prepare all possible requirements needed for traveling abroad, including evidence of a return or onward journey, hotel reservations and sufficient funds.

Countries that allow visa on arrival for Filipinos include The Marshall Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Armenia, Georgia, India, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, The Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Nicaragua, Dominica, Kenya, Madagascar and Cape Verde.



An e-visa is an electronic visa that is generated online. Prior to your visit, fill out the online visa application form that can usually be found on the website of the country’s embassy. Simply upload the necessary documents and pay for the fees online. If your application is approved, the receipt and e-visa will be sent to your email in approximately two to three days. Print these documents and bring it to the airport on your departure date. It’s an easy and accessible process that won’t consume much of your time. 

Countries that allow e-visa for Filipinos are the same countries that allow visa on arrival. 


Header photo by Nicole Geri on Unsplash

Get more stories like this by subscribing to our newsletter here.

Read more:

Travel tip: Get lost on purpose

67 int’l destinations Filipinos can travel visa-free

Most Filipinos preferred to travel locally in 2018

TAGS: countries nolisoli philippines travel visa